The Powers of Social Media!

Image

Being generation Y, the internet has played a large role in my life growing up. I don’t remember life without computers and social media, but I believe I created my first social media account at about 12. Social media is now a tool that is second nature to me, as I am on it about 12 hours a day.

I am sometimes still so amazed at it’s powerful nature though! I was reading an article last week about someone hacking into a media organisations Twitter account and posting that the Whitehouse had experienced two explosions and President Obama had been injured.

http://www.hispanicbusiness.com/2013/4/24/hacked_ap_twitter_account_sends_bogus.htm

This Twitter prank may seem innocent enough, as it only was moments before the Whitehouse put a stop to the false rumors, but within 2 minutes $136 billion from the UC stock exchange had been wiped! All it took was 120 seconds!

Never underestimate the powers of social media and what they can do to a business. Responding swiftly may not always be sufficient when you have such a large public domain able to receive the message.

Leave a comment